Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

Definition and explanation: Search Engine Marketing

Search Engine Marketing (SEM) is a sub-area of ​​the large field of online marketing, which also includes social media marketing or newsletter marketing, for example. Search Engine Marketing (SEM for short) is the general term for the two sub-areas Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Advertising (SEA). In short, SEM deals with the goal of making websites and web shops under Keywords (search terms) on the first search results page of search engines (e.g. Google).

SEM - SEA SEO

Why is Search Engine Marketing important?

Search engines are usually the first port of call when people look for information, services or products. As a source for new customers, search engines are therefore a very important channel for companies to be visible to the target group in the long term. Are companies quickly on the first page of Google and co. found, this has several advantages. On the one hand more visibility for the brand, on the other hand more potential new customers and as a result more inquiries and more sales.

 

How does Search Engine Marketing work?

If websites or web shops want to be found among their services and products in Google, the expectations of the target group can be hit exactly. What worked a long time ago by simply offering the service or product on the site is now more difficult. SEM and the sub-areas SEO and SEA are about the interaction of Flawless technology, high-quality content, target group-oriented usability and Customer Journey and linking to other websites (Backlink Building).

If these necessary areas are not met, a good position in search engines such as Google is usually unthinkable. For this reason, it is important that companies deal with search engine marketing or hire an agency to support them in this. 

 

SEM, SEO, SEA - what is the difference?

SEM is the abbreviation for Search Engine Marketing. This term includes the two sub-areas Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and Search Engine Advertising (SEA).

SEARCH ENGINE OPTIMIZATION (SEO)

Measures by SEO (Search Engine Optimization) are aimed at websites and online shops under the respective Keywords (search terms) under the organic search results on the first search results page. In this sense, organic means something like “not paid” – i.e. the first natural search results.

suchmaschinenmarketing_K99_3

 

A position in the organic search results can be achieved when search engines such as Google recognize the relevance of the website or web shop for the respective search term. The Search Engine Optimization measures are a science in their own right, and the following sub-areas must be briefly considered:

SEO pillars

Since Google's algorithm is constantly evolving, the necessary measures from SEO (Search Engine Optimization). It is advisable for companies to get advice and support from an SEO agency in order to develop long-term visibility in search engines.

Search Engine Advertising (SEA)

SEA (Search Engine Advertising) is the second part of SEM (Search Engine Marketing). As the name suggests, this is about paid advertisements in search engines like Google. With SEA, online ads are displayed in search engines such as Google, Youtube, Bing, Yahoo, etc. in order to reach the target group. You have to pay for each click on the ad (CPC – Cost per Click). Ads are then displayed when users search for specific search terms (keywords). Clicking on the advert will take you to the company's website.

The advantage over SEO is that the ads are positioned directly on the first Google page and are thus visible to potential customers. The disadvantage compared to SEO is that each click costs. 

The task of Google Ads agencies is to constantly reduce the costs per click on an ad so that maximum profit is achieved. The following points are particularly important:

  • The content of the advertisement coincides with the content of the website
  • The expectations of potential customers are met
  • The website is quickly accessible (loading time)
  • Potential customers quickly find the solution they are looking for

Easier said than done, because it also happens with Search Engine Advertising (SEA), like SEO, on an interplay of technology, content and usability.

 

Search Engine Marketing (SEM): Conclusion

Search Engine Marketing (SEM) is a very effective marketing measure that companies should definitely calculate in their online marketing planning. The two sub-areas SEO and SEA can not only work well on their own but also together. If you do not have any know-how in the field of Search Engine Marketing, we recommend consulting a professional SEO and Google Ads agency to get a trained Get a look at the potential and opportunities.

Professional support SEO & more?

The online marketing agency KOMMA99 with focus on SEO & SEA.

Logo - Komma99

Glossarbeitrag: Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM)

Definition und Erklärung: Suchmaschinenmarketing

Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM) ist ein Teilbereich vom großen Feld des Online Marketing, unter das beispielsweise auch Social Media Marketing oder Newsletter Marketing fallen. Suchmaschinenmarketing (englisch: Search Engine Marketing kurz SEM) ist der zusammenfassende Oberbegriff für die beiden Teilbereiche Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) und Suchmaschinenwerbung (SEA). SEM befasst sich kurz gesagt mit dem Ziel, Webseiten und Webshops unter Keywords (Suchbegriffen) auf der ersten Suchergebnisseite von Suchmaschinen (z.B. Google) zu positionieren.

SEM - SEA SEO

Warum ist Suchmaschinenmarketing wichtig?

Suchmaschinen sind meist die erste Anlaufstelle, wenn Menschen nach Informationen, Dienstleistungen oder Produkten suchen. Für Unternehmen sind Suchmaschinen als Quelle für Neukunden deshalb ein sehr wichtiger Kanal, um langfristig sichtbar für die Zielgruppe zu sein. Werden Unternehmen unter ihrer Dienstleistung oder ihren Produkten schnell auf der ersten Seite von Google und co. gefunden, hat dies mehrere Vorteile. Einerseits mehr Sichtbarkeit für die Marke, weiters auch mehr potenzielle Neukunden und daraus resultierend mehr Anfragen und mehr Umsatz. 

 

Wie funktioniert Suchmaschinenmarketing?

Wollen Webseiten oder Webshops unter ihren Dienstleistungen und Produkten in Google gefunden werden, muss die Erwartungshaltung der Zielgruppe exakt getroffen werden. Was vor langer Zeit noch durch das einfache Angebot der Dienstleistung oder des Produkts auf der Seite geklappt hat, gestaltet sich heute als schwieriger.

Bei SEM und den Teilbereichen SEO und SEA geht es um das Zusammenspiel von einwandfreier Technik, hochqualitativen Inhalt, einer zielgruppenorientierten Usability und Customer Journey und der Vernetzung mit anderen Webseiten (Backlink Building).

Werden diese notwendigen Bereiche nicht erfüllt, ist eine gute Position in Suchmaschinen wie Google meist undenkbar. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, dass Unternehmen sich mit Suchmaschinenmarketing befassen oder eine Agentur engagieren, die sie dabei unterstützt. 

 

SEM, SEO, SEA – was ist der Unterschied?

SEM ist die Abkürzung für Search Engine Marketing und bedeutet auf deutsch Suchmaschinenmarketing. Dieser Begriff umfasst die zwei Teilbereiche Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO) und Suchmaschinenwerbung (SEA).

Suchmaschinenoptimierung (SEO)

Maßnahmen von SEO (engl. Search Engine Optimization) haben das Ziel Webseiten und Online-Shops unter jeweiligen Keywords (Suchbegriffen) unter den organischen Suchergebnissen der ersten Suchergebnisseite zu positionieren. Organisch bedeutet in diesem Sinne so viel wie “nicht bezahlt” – also die ersten natürlichen Suchergebnisse. 

suchmaschinenmarketing_K99_3

 

Eine Position in den organischen Suchergebnissen kann dann erreicht werden, wenn Suchmaschinen wie Google die Relevanz der Website oder des Webshops für den jeweiligen Suchbegriff erkennen. Die Maßnahmen der Suchmaschinenoptimierung sind eine eigene Wissenschaft, kurz umfasst müssen folgende Teilbereiche bedacht werden:

SEO Säulen

Nachdem sich der Algorithmus von Google ständig weiterentwickelt, verändern sich auch die nötigen Maßnahmen von SEO (Suchmaschinenoptimierung). Für Unternehmen empfiehlt es sich Beratung und Unterstützung durch eine SEO Agentur zu erhalten, um langfristig Sichtbarkeit in Suchmaschinen zu entwickeln. 

Suchmaschinenwerbung (SEA)

SEA (engl. Search Engine Advertising) ist der zweite Teilbereich von SEM (Suchmaschinenmarketing). Hier geht es – wie es der Name schon verrät – um die bezahlten Werbeanzeigen in Suchmaschinen wie Google.

Bei SEA werden online Anzeigen in Suchmaschinen wie Google, Youtube, Bing, Yahoo, etc. ausgespielt, um dadurch die Zielgruppe zu erreichen. Für jeden Klick auf die Anzeige muss gezahlt werden (CPC – Cost per Click). Ads (Anzeigen) werden dann ausgespielt wenn Nutzer nach bestimmten Suchbegriffen (Keywords) suchen. Mit einem Klick auf die Ads Anzeige gelangen sie dann auf die Seite des Unternehmens.

Der Vorteil gegenüber SEO ist, dass die Anzeigen direkt auf der ersten Google Seite positioniert werden und so sichtbar für potenzielle Kunden sind. Der Nachteil gegenüber SEO ist, dass jeder Klick kostet. 

Die Aufgabe von Google Ads Agenturen ist es, die Kosten pro Klick auf eine Anzeige stetig zu reduzieren, sodass dadurch maximaler Gewinn entsteht. Dabei kommt es vor allem auf folgende Punkte an:

  • Der Inhalt der Anzeige deckt sich mit dem Inhalt der Website
  • Die Erwartungshaltung potenzieller Kunden wird getroffen
  • Die Website ist schnell erreichbar (Ladezeit)
  • Potenzielle Kunden finden schnell die gesuchte Lösung

Einfacher gesagt als getan, weil auch bei Suchmaschinenwerbung (SEA) kommt es, wie bei SEO, auf ein Zusammenspiel von Technik, Inhalt und Usability an. 

 

Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM): Fazit

Suchmaschinenmarketing (SEM) ist eine sehr wirkungsvolle Marketingmaßnahme, die Unternehmen in ihrer Online Marketing Planung unbedingt kalkulieren sollten. Die beiden Teilbereiche SEO und SEA können nicht nur für sich sondern auch miteinander gut funktionieren. Wenn kein Know-How im Bereich Suchmaschinenmarketing vorhanden ist, empfehlen wir die Beratung durch eine professionelle SEO und Google Ads Agentur, um vor Start solcher Online Marketing Maßnahmen einen geschulten Blick auf die Potenziale und Möglichkeiten zu erhalten.

Professionelle Unterstützung SEO & mehr?

Die Online Marketing Agentur KOMMA99
mit Fokus auf SEO & SEA
Menü
SEO - Suchmaschinenoptimierung
Marketing Services
Webdesign
Wissen
Tools